top of page

Ready. Set. Chile.

Today was my last full day in Dayton, Ohio before embarking on summer adventures to Santiago, Chile.

The anticipation has been building this entire time and I’m not sure if I can take it anymore. Luckily, I leave tomorrow, so I will not have to anticipate the start of my Latin American adventures for much longer.

Here is what I have been doing for the last two weeks to get ready for Santiago:

  1. QUALITY TIME-with friends and family. Between my older brother’s college graduation and sister’s high school graduation, my family has definitely felt the end of the year crunch. The busyness of the end of the year keeps life exciting. I have enjoyed catching up with friends and family after a successful sophomore year!

  2. STUDY- only a little. I will be taking a Research Methods and Nutrition & Health course while I am in Chile. I am looking forward to both since I really enjoy doing research and learning about how food impacts the human body.

  3. PACKING- probably the most important as far as actually getting ready for Santiago goes. For me this meant many last-minute trips to the store to buy things I knew I would need. And asking my parents a million questions about what would be good to pack.

  4. FOOD- cooking and eating. This week I have been cooking and eating foods I may not have in Santiago and have been going to local places in Dayton. Meals have always been important to me because I love the conversations that come with sitting at a table with people I care about. Food fosters conversation (and quality food fosters optimal health). The pictures below represent some of the great conversations I have had with friends and family before leaving.

I made spaghetti squash topped with a homemade basil pesto, fresh tomatoes, and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. This meal was healthy and easy to make. I think most of my family enjoyed it just as much as I did!!

I tried Press Coffee in downtown Dayton for the first time with two friends from high school. I would recommend the cold brew or the macchiato. Both are a good way to start the morning or catch up with friends.

For the first time I also tried a soul food restaurant in Downtown Dayton called De’Lish. The name does the cafe justice because it was delicious. Between fried asparagus (which I had never even heard of before!), seafood flatbread pizza, and sweet potato bread pudding, I had my fill of southern comfort food. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to try something not usually found in Dayton, OH. This ends my food adventures in Dayton before heading to Santiago!

I am ready to take flight tomorrow. After reading a book, taking an immersion class, and watching a few movies on Chile, I am excited to embrace a different culture. Hasta luego Dayton!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page